In office
Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario
1,671 days in office
Ontario's 42nd Parliament
07 Jun 2018 - 03 May 2022
Ontario's 43rd Parliament
02 Jun 2022 - Present

The 2022 Ontario general election was held on June 2, 2022 to elect the 124 members of the 43rd Parliament of Ontario. The Progressive Conservative (PC) Party of Ontario, led by Doug Ford, won a majority government with 83 of the 124 seats in the legislature. The incumbent party, they increased their seat share from 76 in the 2018 election. They campaigned on a slogan to “get it done,” pledging to build highways and transit infrastructure and open up the “Ring of Fire,” a mineral-rich area in northern Ontario. Instead of an election platform, the Ontario PC Party presented its promises on its website in the form of press releases throughout the campaign.

In partnership with

Promise History

1.03.06 - “[L]ower […] diesel taxes by 10.3 cents a litre, saving you every time you fill up your car or truck”


While the Ford government managed to remove the cap-and-trade system, resulting in a temporary decrease of 5 ¢/litre (see more here), doing so triggered the federal carbon tax backstop and negated those savings. Meanwhile, the provincial diesel tax has not changed since the beginning of the Ford government’s mandate. This promise is therefore broken.

“The federal government charges an excise tax at a flat rate of […] 4 cents per litre on diesel (in effect at that rate since 1987).” [Ed. Note: See Table: ‘Federal and Provincial Consumption Taxes on Petroleum Products’ under column “Diesel”].


“Fuel tax rates were last changed on January 1, 1992. The current rates are: 14.3¢ per litre.”

Fuel tax rates

Published: Apr 2020

“Ontario families and small businesses pay the federal carbon levy. Ontario challenged Ottawa’s authority to impose the carbon levy in court and lost and is now appealing to the Supreme Court of Canada. […] The province is also subject to the output-based system on any facility emitting more than 50,000 tonnes of greenhouse gas each year.”


“The GGPPA [Greenhouse Gas Pollution Pricing Act] received Royal Assent on June 21, 2018. It establishes the framework for the federal carbon pollution pricing system. The federal system consists of two main parts, which can apply in whole or in part in a backstop jurisdiction: A regulatory charge on fossil fuels (fuel charge), administered by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), and; A regulatory trading system for industry, known as the Output-Based Pricing System (OBPS), administered by ECCC through the Output-Based Pricing System Regulations (OBPS Regulations). […] The federal fuel charge came into force: on April 1, 2019 in Ontario, New Brunswick, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan; on July 1, 2019 in Yukon and Nunavut; and on January 1, 2020 in Alberta.”

Protecting our environment

Published: Dec 2019
Not yet rated
Started tracking on: 29-Jun-2018
Developed in partnership with