In office
Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario
1,280 days in office
Ontario's 42nd Parliament
07 Jun 2018 - Present

The 2018 Ontario general election was held on June 7, 2018 to elect the 124 members of the 42nd Parliament of Ontario.

The Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario, led by Doug Ford, won a majority government with 76 of the 124 seats in the legislature. The incumbent Liberal government was effectively swept out of Parliament, securing only 7 seats in the legislature and consequently having to surrender official party status.

In partnership with

Promise History

1.11.26 - “Bring back passenger rail service to the North”

Not yet rated

The Ontario government has not ruled out plans to restore passenger rail service to the North. At the same time, however, the government has not taken any concrete steps to fulfill this promise.

“[NDP MPP John] Vanthof acknowledges the move to the MTO could very well result in a return of passenger rail service but he says nothing has happened to date adding the move is something the Ford government is only contemplating at this time. […] [Vic] Fedeli [Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade] says he’s pleased with how the process is unfolding and emphasizes there’s still time in the four-year government mandate to see a return of passenger rail.”

Not yet rated
Started tracking on: 29-Jun-2018
Developed in partnership with