In office
Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario
1,612 days in office
Ontario's 42nd Parliament
07 Jun 2018 - 03 May 2022
Ontario's 43nd Parliament
02 Jun 2022 - Present

The 2022 Ontario general election was held on June 2, 2022 to elect the 124 members of the 43rd Parliament of Ontario. The Progressive Conservative (PC) Party of Ontario, led by Doug Ford, won a majority government with 83 of the 124 seats in the legislature. The incumbent party, they increased their seat share from 76 in the 2018 election. They campaigned on a slogan to “get it done,” pledging to build highways and transit infrastructure and open up the “Ring of Fire,” a mineral-rich area in northern Ontario. Instead of an election platform, the Ontario PC Party presented its promises on its website in the form of press releases throughout the campaign.

In partnership with

Promise History

2.03.01 - “Doug Ford and the Ontario PCs will […] keep costs down by lowering the gas tax by 5.7 cents per litre”

Partially kept

“Effective July 1 to December 31, 2022, the gasoline tax rate on unleaded gasoline will decrease from 14.7 cents per litre to 9.0 cents per litre.”

Not yet rated
Started tracking on: 24-Jun-2022
Developed in partnership with